Continuing up the Croatian coastline.

outdoorfeativalzadar

High line demonstration for the outdoor festival in Zadar

3rd May.

I know I promised to keep this journal updated… but poor wifi connection and I got slightly  distracted by dolphins (more to follow)…

From Split I headed up the coast road by bus to the city of Zadar. The journey was amazing, with rugged mountains on one side of the road and views out to the islands the other. The busses here are great, cheap comfortable and so far reliable. As it’s off season it’s not even necessary to pre book long journeys.

Zadar was my first stop, I arrived in pouring rain and then immediately got lost in what looked like a 1960’s council estate, looking for my hostel.

IMG_5966

My first impression of Zadar..

I have to admit my first impressions were by the best, however after freshening up and studying a map I went out exploring and found it to be a really interesting city, with a huge amount of character!

Zadar old town

Entering the old town

IMG_5977

The Roman forum

IMG_6074

Blue skies always cheer me up

IMG_6031

The pretty old harbour

They are still rebuilding the old town after the damage it sustained in WW2 and they are literally putting it back as it was.

There are lots of concrete tower mixed in with beautiful churches, Venetian architecture and random Roman ruins throughout the old town. The old town is another maze of traffic free streets squares and a beautiful seafront walk way the highlight of which are the recently added Sun Salutaion and the Sea Organ, a musical instrument played by the sea!

IMG_6026

The sea organ

Zadar waterfront

The waterfront promenade

Sun salutation

The sun salutation by day collects sunlight through solar panels…

IMG_6060

And by night, where people gather to watch the sun go down and a light show produced by the solar panels

Zadar is much less touristy than Split especially at this time of year, but its still very lively thanks to the University while I was there a festival celebrating the outdoor persuiuts in the area. I was lucky to watch high line demonstrations, raft races and a 10km road race.

From Zadar it was back on the bus to continue up the coast to Rijeka.

Roadtorijeka

The coast road from Zadar to Rijeka

IMG_6151

Rijeka

IMG_6160

Botel Marina.. (I see what they did there…)

I stayed overnight in Rijeka, in a quirky hotel in the marina a converted boat!

Next stop the island of Losinj…

Leave a Reply

