Starting in Split 

So my journey has begun and here is my first entry in my travel journal.. Which I promise to keep updated whenever I can. 

– 27th April –

I arrived in Split yesterday after a painless flight and a very easy airport to city transfer thanks to the shuttle bus which was kindly waiting outside on my arrival. Funding my room was also easy, a quick walk from the bus terminal.

wp-image-30172670jpg.jpg

View of Split

My home for my stay is a studio just outside the West gate of the palace, I was welcomed by the host who after handing me my first Croatian beer gave me a map and some invaluable advice about what to see and do while I’m in Split and then when she found out how long I am travelling for some ideas about where else I should visit.
I wandered out to explore starting with a walk through the West gate into the old town and down to the Riva (sea front promenade) from here I walked to Marjan Gardens a large nature reserve to the west of the Riva. There are steep steps up to the park, where there are views across the Adriatic to the islands, and a great view of Split with the mountains in the background.

Steps up to Marjan

The view from the top.

For dinner I headed back into the palace where I sat at one if the lively restaurants in the city square, people watching and eating asparagus resotto. Yum! 

IMG_5866

The palace square is buzzing at night with live music and alfresco drinking.

To make the most of my second day I booked a culinary tour of the city. I arrived early at the meeting point and sat in the sun with a coffee profiling those wandering around to see if I could guess who my fellow tourist would be… As  ten o clock approached it everyone disappeared. When my guide arrived it seemed that I was the only customer that day.

Tanja my guide showed me through the Palace as we talked about local food and culture.

Gregorius of Nin stands outside Golden Gate

 

Rubbing his toe brings good luck and ensures you’ll return to split

Diocletian’s basement

IMG_5890

The bell tower of St Dominius

IMG_5891

This is why it’s called the ‘old town’ (ignore the cement mixer)

We next visited markets where we bought fish and fresh vegetables along the way explaining the culture and origuns of local cuisine before taking me to a restaurant where our supplies where crafted into a meal. 

Free Fish! they went from this…


to this

Yum!!

That evening, the rain which had been forecast all day  finally came as in was just leaving to get some dinner, typical. However it seems that other tourists don’t like rain which meant I got to explore the palace almost on my own!

Empty Streets!


Diocletian’s Front door

Diocletian palace

Diocletian’s porch.

IMG_5869

The bell tower again..

The centre of Split is really easy to get around on foot, despite the old town being a warren of narrow streets and winding passageways with endless corners and even tunnels through buildings. The whole of the Diocletian’s palace area and surrounding streets are protected by UNESCO and there are no cars (there are a few wayward golf carts & very fast cyclists about) every time I though I’d seen everything, I’d take a wrong turn and end up finding new secrets hidden away.

I don’t feel like I’ve had enough time Here, let’s hope my toe rubbing has paid off… 

Next stop Zadar! 

Leave a Reply

